Faultmagazine’s Blog

FAULTLESS: Andrew Bruce

Posted in Uncategorized by faultmagazine on July 22, 2010
Photographer::  Andrew Bruce
How has 2010 been for you so far?

It’s been an incredible year for me so far.  Right from the start, on the 5th of January, I was off to India for a month with a Prime Ministers Initiative 2 grant from the British Council.  I’ve also graduated, had my newest series ‘tender’ in two London shows, and I’ve had the pleasure to meet and work with some amazing people.

What is your artistic background?

I don’t really have one, I’m only 21 so I think it would be misguided to try and pinpoint any kind of background.  I’m someone who’s really just interested in looking and learning, so photography suits me perfectly.

When did you first discover your gift for photography?

I remember in school I found myself at an all time low, I felt I was not going to amount to anything (maybe this is a bit of a cliché) and then I took some photos for a media project, and suddenly everyone was telling me that they were great.  I realised that this just felt completely natural and since then I haven’t looked back and everything changed for me.  I feel really privileged to have found something that I love so much.

What other artists inspire you?

My biggest influence has been the Swedish artist/photographer Anna Linderstam.  Her work is incredible and I was really fortunate to assist with her last piece, since then she’s been the most amazing help to me and my work. Working with Anna really marked a changing point in my work – suddenly I knew what direction I was going to take my work in as a photographer, and I was really confident about it.  I’m really excited about a lot of the new artists coming out of Sweden and the other Nordic countries.

Adam Broomberg & Oliver Chanarin, who I’ve done a lot of work for recently, are really amazing artists that I look up to.  Photographers such as Sally Mann, Joan Fontcuberta, Joel-Peter Witkin, Simen Johan, Shirana Shahabazi, Helen Sear, Bill Henson, Trent Parke, Ori Gersht and Michael Lundgren are all great inspirations, I could go on for a while more.  Gaspar Noé’s films as well, I still feel the effects from seeing his last film ‘Enter the Void’.  In general, I’m probably most inspired by what’s around me, the vernacular (maybe that’s a really obvious statement to make).  I collect screen-shots and bits of newspapers, anything that relates to what I’m interested in at the time.

The photography community is full of such wonderful people, it’s great to be a part of it.

Describe your style?
A year ago I would have said that my work was about two themes; our growing detachment from the natural world, and our growing detachment from the idea of our own mortality.  I think for a while I felt lost having these two strands in my work, that at the time I saw them as quite distinct.  But then I started thinking about how these two things are really very interconnected and so I feel my work is about where these two subjects intersect and collide.  It’s something that I have resisted trying to verbalise, it’s something I feel is best left as a raw emotion, as something quite basic, best left for the work to say.

In fact, being led by that raw emotion is something very important to me.  I work very slowly and in a very considered way.  From slowly cycling country roads to find animals killed by motorists, to taking them home to be stored (for the past year I’ve had a freezer in my room especially for this task – so I feel I really can’t escape my work) and then even the production is slow; working with a large 10×8″ view camera and then having my images printed (usually at life-size) by hand on an enlarger.  Most photographs take me months of planning and waiting to realise.

When I find an animal, it’s so sad, as they are so beautiful – I hope people can appreciate that (if nothing else) in my photographs.  I’m still waiting for someone to really misunderstand my work and take offence, maybe I’m paranoid.

If you weren’t a photographer what would you be doing?

I always ask myself this question.  I’ll say that if I wasn’t a photographer then I would be some kind of artist, maybe a sculptor or maybe a writer (what a romantic idea!), or maybe a professional cyclist, or even working with (live) animals. The truth is that without photography, I’d probably be doing nothing!

What are you currently working on at the moment?

Every time I have made a piece of work with ‘animals’ I have sworn it’s the last.. however this time I really am working on my last ever project with dead animals. That’s all I will say about that.  I’ve been lucky, and I’ve been very busy since I graduated, so I haven’t had time to stop and worry and hopefully this will continue.

What’s next for you?

As well as working on my next piece, I’ve got some jobs teaching (which is something I’m really passionate about and enjoy) and some work with other photographers lined up.  Maybe apply for an MA.  Hopefully it will continue to be a good year, I feel it’s going to be a very telling time.

What is your FAULT?
My undying love for the band Journey

See more here:   http://www.brucebruce.co.uk/

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] relatie met de natuur en de neiging om snel aan sterfelijkheid voorbij te gaan. Lees dit aardige interview in Fault Magazine. Bruce werkt met een grootbeeldcamera en drukt zijn grote foto’s met de hand […]

  2. We Like Art said, on September 8, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    We mentioned this nice interview in our blogpost on Andrew Bruce.

    http://www.welikeart.nl/2010/09/08/andrew-bruce-uit-de-serie-tender-2010-e-845/

    On We Like Art we focus on brilliant art and how it is priced.


Leave a Reply

