Faultmagazine’s Blog

FAULTLESS: Photographer Dag Knudsen

Posted in Uncategorized by faultmagazine on July 21, 2010

FAULT’S   ONE2WATCH: Photographer Dag Knudsen

FAULT: How has 2010 been for you so far?

So far 2010 has been very hectic and productive. I have been published in a variety of countries I never dreamt of and have met a lot a great and inspiring people both to work with and socialize with. It just gets better and better..

FAULT:What is your artistic background?

I studied photography in Denmark and then worked two years assisting the late Alberto Serejo. RIP.

FAULT:When did you first discover your gift for photography?

As a kid I remember dreaming of making movies so I guess I started out as an aspiring movie director. But I soon found out that everybody wanted to be Coppola or Kubrick so I decided to focus on telling stories with one frame at the time. When I was 16 years old my best friends brother offered me a slr from the seventies. I picked it up, started shooting randomly and havent stopped since.

FAULT:What other artists inspire you?

I am inspired by painters such as Theodor Kittelsen and Francisco Goya but would rather say I get more inspiration from the things I see in my surroundings in daily life. Like people I meet, the way the light falls or is consumed by the shadows, myths and fairytales.

Describe your style?

I would say my style is techically based with tendencies to the darker sides of excistence. I mostly work in series and often like to add some dramaturgy and odd characters. I love fiction.

FAULT:What are you inspired by music?

Squeaking sounds and deep beats get me going. You put a dub eccho on top of that and we are close. I used to dj a bit and was at a point very into that. But now I use music in its different shapes as balm for the mind; the genre depending on the mood but mostly dub, jazz or electronica.

FAULT:If you weren’t a photographer what would you be doing?

If I was not a photographer I´d be a scuba diver instructor on a remote tropical island. I love the sea.

FAULT:What are you currently working on at the moment?

I am a notorious multitasker ( and time optimist ) so at the moment I am working on a advertisement campaign in Norway and the postproduction of a fashion editorial for a new magazine in Paris. They both involve a lot of editing.

FAULT:What’s next for you?

Next up is a job for a private luxury cruise company in the
Mediterranean. So its gonna be part job part relaxation. Cant really complain about that. After that I have a couple weeks of holiday and then Im off to Paris for some editorial work with my crew there.

FAULT:What is your FAULT?

It´s my FAULT that Im always late..

www.dag-knudsen.com

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Morten Caddy cool said, on July 22, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    amazing pictures and a unik personality and look out for he`s favorit pet, the goldfish with nine lives :O)

  2. Anna Núñez Pereligina said, on July 22, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    Great fotographer!!! Dag come to Panama again….

  3. Flemming said, on July 22, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    Great pictures! I see an inspiration from the sandpeople

  4. Charlie said, on July 23, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Amazing pics! I love the honest though mystical style.
    Great work, man!


Leave a Reply

