Faultmagazine’s Blog

Florencia Kozuch

Posted in Florencia Kozuch by faultmagazine on February 9, 2010

By Roshannah Bagley

BUENOS AIRES, Argentina/LONDON: Twice a year during London Fashion Week, Vauxhall Fashion Scout – hailed as a ‘talent goldmine’ by Vogue.com – presents a selection of London’s most gifted upcoming designers to its worldwide audience. Now approaching its eighth season, the institution has managed to bring a number of designers to the forefront of British fashion: Peter Pilotto, William Tempest and, more recently, David Koma, and Hermione de Paula. This season’s ‘Ones To Watch’ – Askh, David Longshaw, Eudon Choi and Florencia Kozuch – will take centre stage at the city’s Freemasons’ Hall. Central Saint Martins graduate Florencia Kozuch speaks to FAULT about her obsession with sea urchins and her forthcoming debut.


FAULT: How are you feeling about your debut at this season’s London Fashion Week?

Florencia: I’m very exited, if not a little terrified! I cannot think of a better platform to do my catwalk debut. It’s a great opportunity for a young designer and I’m really looking forward to it.

FAULT: Argentinean tribes and rock’n’roll acted as inspiration for your graduate CSM collection. Where have you found inspiration for this season?

Florencia: Well, this season is a mix-mash of all things Argentinean – from crocodiles to sea urchins, gaucho hats, riding trousers and wools from the Patagonia. I’ve been producing my collection in my home city of Buenos Aires, working with local manufactures and traditional products. So I hope you will see a slicker collection but I’m still experimenting with textures and silhouette.

FAULT: Textiles play a vital role in your design aesthetic. What sort of detailing can we expect to see at Fashion Week?

Florencia: This time there will be embroidered sea urchin spikes – some painted and some in their natural colour – masks and necklaces as well as interesting knits. I have used chunky virgin wool for coats and hot pants. There are also some reptile armour-like details in Cayman skin from Formosa.

FAULT: Which is your favourite piece and why?

Florencia: At the moment I am sea urchin obsessed! So I guess it’s the open back black and blue dress with embroidered spikes.


FAULT: How would you describe the Florencia Kozuch woman?

Florencia: To tell you the truth, I hope there is no Florencia Kozuch woman. I want my clients to buy my clothes and instantly make them theirs, mix them with what they love and wear them confidently. But if you need something more specific, you can say I design with a strong, independent, un-afraid lady in mind.

FAULT: What sparked your fascination with fashion?

Florencia: I’ve been observing what people wear from a young age, so I guess I didn’t know about fashion then, but I always loved clothes. As time went by I could only see myself doing what I do now. After that, I discovered fashion magazines, MTV and combined these with drawing. Fashion was my only option.

FAULT: What are your plans for the remainder of the year?

Florencia: Ideally I want to focus on the Spring-Summer collection. Whilst developing this Autumn-Winter one I keep having summery ideas, so my plan is to keep working.

FAULT: Are there any areas within or outside of the fashion industry that you would like to explore?

Florencia: At the moment I’ve been developing some jewellery, but I guess that’s still part of the fashion industry. I am really interested in learning to master leather – both exotic and traditional. There are so many possibilities and I am planning on exploring them in my future seasons.


www.vauxhallfashionscout.co.uk

Leave a Reply

