Faultmagazine’s Blog

BLACK LIPS Interview for FAULT MAGAZINE

Posted in Uncategorized by faultmagazine on August 31, 2009

BLACK LIPS FAULT MAGAZINE

FAULT: Tell us about your new album 200millionthousand.
Joe: It’s probably more similar to our older stuff. We’re going back to our roots a little bit, it’s more psychedelic than ‘Good Bad Not Evil’

FAULT: Who or what inspires you?
Cole: Old, undiscovered sounds, like the early 1900’s. I was at a CD store and I found a CD of Alistair Crowley, he’s just playing music it’s just really cool to take inspiration from that because it’s so different from what’s going on today. He’s just like casting spells and stuff on CD.
Joe: I would say if you’re going to get inspired from anything it’s best to get it from the source. That’s why we don’t take much influence from modern rock because they have already taking that from something else and something else.  So we try and go back and take it from the source, that’s where you find the best sounds.

FAULT: How do you feel you have grown as a band?
Joe: We spend more time with eachother than anyone else. I don’t think there is anyway I could know these guys better than I already do. I probably know them better then their own mums.

FAULT: What are you working on at the moment?
Joe: We just finished recording with our good friends The King Khan & BBQ Show and we’ve just finished a ten song album with this super group called
The All Mighty Defenders. I really hope we can start recording our new album by Autumn.

FAULT: What are you currently listening to?
Cole: Our friend gave us a CD of all old 60’s acetates that haven’t been released, I can’t even name all of the bands there’s so many, one was called The Creation. Not the British Creation.
Joe: Vivian Girls  and Crystal Castles.
Cole: I’ve just bought this CD by this gospel group The Sensational Nightingales, it’s really awesome,  it’s like 50’s music.

FAULT: What is your proudest moment?
Joe: The New York Times giving us an accolade.
Cole: Performing on The Conan O’Brian show,  he picks up pretty good music, so I was pretty proud to be on his show.

FAULT: What is the strangest thing that’s happened to Black Lips?
Joe: We became some what successful.

FAULT: Who is your favourite artist?
Cole: Kenneth Anger,  he’s a cool film maker but he incorporates a lot of good music into his films.

FAULT: What’s the best advice you’ve ever been given?
Joe: Keep it simple, stupid.

FAULT: What inspired you to take a career in music?
Cole: We didn’t go into it trying to make a career out of it, we just did it for fun and it manifested itself into a career.

FAULT: Who do you think is overrated?
Joe: Vampire Weekend
Cole: Klaxons.

FAULT: What pisses you off?
Joe: When business people don’t respect us, they don’t respect what we have to say.

FAULT: What are you looking forward to?
Joe: Next year should be good, I’m pretty sure next year will be better.

FAULT: Where do you see yourself in a year’s time?
Joe: Eventually I’m hoping to reach a point where I can stop looking forward to the future all the time, start enjoying the present and then when I get really old I can look back on the past and enjoy all the things that I’ve done. But as for right now my eyes are set on the future, so I’m always going to look forward to that.

FAULT: Do you have any heroes?
Cole: Yeah, I do I’m trying to think who they are…Oh yeah! Jack Johnson, he was this boxer from America.

FAULT: What is your FAULT?
Joe: We got kicked out on India because of Cole, which was his FAULT!
Cole: Yeah, that was my fault.
Joe: nah I’m kidding. I can be a little to harsh on people, I can be a little too stern sometimes, that’s my fault.

FAULT MAGAZINE BLACK LIPS

FAULT MAGAZINE black Lips 480

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] BLACK LIPS and FAULT MAGAZINE « Faultmagazine’s Blog faultmagazine.wordpress.com/2009/08/31/black-lips-and-fault-magazine – view page – cached #Faultmagazine’s Blog RSS Feed Faultmagazine's Blog » BLACK LIPS and FAULT MAGAZINE Comments Feed Faultmagazine's Blog http://www.faultmagazine.com FAULT Magazine… Do you mind if I sit down? — From the page […]

  2. Bill Bartmann said, on September 17, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…:)

    -Bill-Bartmann

  3. Bill Bartmann said, on September 19, 2009 at 9:33 am

    Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read.. 🙂

    -Bill-Bartmann

  4. Dryer Vent Cleaning said, on September 19, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    Excellent site, keep up the good work

  5. Bill Bartmann said, on September 19, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read.. 🙂

    -Bill-Bartmann

  6. Bill Bartmann said, on September 21, 2009 at 4:51 am

    Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read.. <a href="http://wiki.hudson-ci.org/display/~bill-bartmann&quot;

    -Bill-Bartmann

  7. Peaxwipiciarp said, on September 22, 2009 at 11:46 am

    I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..

    -Bill-Bartmann

  8. Tony Brown said, on September 23, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

  9. Dan Baskin said, on September 24, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    I usually don’t post on Blogs but ya forced me to, great info.. excellent! … I’ll add a backlink and bookmark your site.

  10. Kelli Garner said, on October 2, 2009 at 3:07 am

    I enjoy this site, it is worth me coming back


Leave a Reply

